About Us

Senate Bill 2288

Senate Bill 2288 established the Mississippi Sesquicentennial of the American Civil War Commission on July 1, 2009. To read the bill, click here.

The Mississippi Sesquicentennial of the American Civil War Commission

Pursuant to Section 4 of S. B. 2288, the Commission is to be comprised of the following:

  1. Executive Director of Mississippi Development Authority
    Mr. Brent Christensen
  2. Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History
    Mr. Hank Holmes
  3. State Superintendent of Education
    Dr. Carey Wright
  4. Manager of the Bureau of Film and Culture
    Mr. Ward Emling
  5. President/Chairman of the Mississippi Historical Society
    Ms. Ann Simmons
  6. Chairman of the Mississippi Civil War Battlefield Commission
    Brig. Gen. (Ret.) Parker Hills
  7. Director of Brice's Crossroads Battlefield Commission
    Ms. Edwina Carpenter
  8. Director of Vicksburg National Military Park
    Mr. Michael Madell
  9. Director of Shiloh National Military Park
    Mr. John Bundy
  10. Director of Grand Gulf Military Park
    Mr. Bud Ross
  11. Representative of Mississippi Tourism Association*
    Mr. Bill Seratt
  12. Ship Island/Fort Massachusetts
    Gulf Islands National Seashore
    Ms. Susan Teel
  13. Appointee of the Governor
    Mr. Robert Walker
  14. A member of the Mississippi State Senate
    Senator Lydia Chassaniol
  15. A member of the Mississippi House of Representatives